Sep 22, 2011


In this picture, you see the presentation of an award to Professor Akhlaq Khan 'Shahryar', a noted ghazal writer in Urdu (whose work has also appeared in films like "Umrao Jaan"). A former recipient of the Sahitya Akademi Puraskaar, here he is receiving one of India's highest literary honours.

The award, instituted in 1961, is given out annually by a trust. There seems to be some backlog, with award announcements and ceremonies for past years being held this year. Both Shahryar, who won for 2008, and the Malayalam writer O.N.V.Kurup (2007) received their prizes this year. The next winner has also been announced: Chandrashekhara Kambara, a Kannada playwright.

Which award?

Image: The Hindu

Vibhendu writes in to say: "Kambar has won it for 2010, so technically he is not the next awardee. The same announcement also featured 2009 winners- Hindi authors Amar Kant and Shrilal Shukla. So the backlog has finally been taken care of."

[+ Show Answer]


More Quizzing Goodies from Thinq2Win