Skip to main content


A question on the "Ig Nobels" seems like a natural succession to yesterday's question, especially given today's question number. The "Ig Nobels" are awarded by the magazine "Annals of Improbable Research" and is a spoof of the Nobels, rewarding real 'achievements' that "that first make people laugh then make them think".

This year's winners for Mathematics won it "for teaching the world to be careful when making mathematical assumptions and calculations". The list below gives their names and the year associated with whatever put them in the spotlight:

  • Dorothy Martin, USA, 1954
  • Pat Robertson, USA, 1982
  • Elizabeth Clare Prophet, USA, 1990
  • Lee Jang Rim, Korea, 1992
  • Credonia Mwerinde, Uganda, 1999
  • Harold Camping, USA, Sept 6-7, 1994 and later Oct 21, 2011
What did they do?

[+ Show Answer]

Popular posts from this blog


In Jan 2017, Finland became the first country in Europe to officially experiment with this socio-economic concept. Similar experiments are scheduled for many Dutch cities and the Canadian city of Ontario in 2017. In the case of Finland, the figure is 560 Euros a month. What concept?

[+ Show Answer]