Aug 21, 2013


As is customary, the awarding of some of India's top prizes in sports for 2013 (in particular, the Arjuna and Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards) was mired in controversy. The Khel Ratna was initially awarded to shooter Ronjan Sodhi, but there were protests by discus thrower Krishna Poonia and Paralympian H.N. Girisha.

This has led to suggestions that the award be shared by Sodhi and Poonia, though the Indian Sports Ministry has a policy of not making the award to more than one sportsperson, except in certain cases. One such deviation occurred in 2003, when the athlete K.M.Beenamol was given the award, but later another shooter was added to the list.

Incidentally, this shooter was now part of the jury for the 2013 awards. Who?

[+ Show Answer]

This day last year: Q.691


More Quizzing Goodies from Thinq2Win