Skip to main content


The tiny Pacific Island nation of Vanuatu has lately been involved in a diplomatic controversy. A territory in the former Soviet nation of Georgia had declared its independence in the 90s which is not recognized by Georgia and most countries in the world. Only Russia (which is deeply opposed to Georgia), Nicaragua, Venezuela and Nauru recognize this region as an independent state.

Recently, this "country" claimed that Vanuatu had also joined these four countries in formally accepting its independence and sovereignty, which was later denied by some Vanuatu officials.

So which territory is this?

[+ Show Answer]

Popular posts from this blog


In Jan 2017, Finland became the first country in Europe to officially experiment with this socio-economic concept. Similar experiments are scheduled for many Dutch cities and the Canadian city of Ontario in 2017. In the case of Finland, the figure is 560 Euros a month. What concept?

[+ Show Answer]